Hooked on Phonics

Hooked on phonics did not work for me. Mainly because I never got hooked. Much to my father’s discontent I was more focused on New Kids on the Block, than I was reading so I could have a better future. I couldn’t see the importance in learning the way my dad did. He knew that a good education was important to my future and to the woman I would become. All I knew at that time was that I hated reading. Thank the Lord for the magic “spell check” button or I assure you I wouldn’t be writing this today.

Our heavenly father feels the same way about our spiritual education. It is important for us to read and spend time in word of God. How else can we become better educated on what our father has done for us, and how we can be changed by his love and grace? How else can we help and teach other who Christ is and what he has done for us? Finding time to get with God and study, read, pray and meditate is at the root of how we grow as Christians in our relationship with the father. In this high tech, instant gratification world there are so many things competing for our attention. We should remember that none of these things of the world or flesh make up who we are in Christ. Our identity in Christ is in the Holy Spirit that grows as we continue to read and renew our minds. (Romans 12)

Psalms 1:1-2 says “Blessed is the man who does not walk in the counsel of the wicked or stand in the way of sinners or sit in the seat of mockers. But his delight is in the law of the Lord and on his law he meditates day and night”.

Real life does not have a spell check button that will expose to us our mistakes on a screen. Real life does not have a spell check button that will fix all your problems, or make your life document more put together. But what real life does have is the Bible, and with study and reflection it will provide you with guidance you never knew you needed and insight into Who our father is, and who you are.

For my dad,Thank you.

Image

1 Comment

Filed under Devotions

One response to “Hooked on Phonics

  1. Bob Carmack

    Dad couldn’t be more proud of his little girl!

Leave a Reply

